The State of Tripura was a princely state, and Maharaja Birbikram Kishore Manikya Bahadur was the last king. After the death of Maharaja Birbikram Kishore Manikya Bahadur in May 1947, a Council under the leadership of his widowed wife Maharani Kanchan Prabha Devi took over the charge of the administration on behalf of minor prince Kirit Bikram. The monarchy came to an end on 9th Sept, 1947 and Tripura was merged with the Indian Union as a part 'C' State, administered by the Chief Commissioner. Tripura became a Union Territory on 1st November 1956.

The territorial council was formed on 15th August 1959, which was later dissolved and a Legislative Assembly with a council of ministers was formed in July, 1963. Tripura became a full fledged state in 1972. Till 31st August 1970 the district administration was run by one Deputy Commissioner. On 1st September 1970, Tripura was divided into 3 (three) districts, namely, North Tripura, South Tripura and West Tripura. Later the fourth district called Dhalai was created which started functioning from 16th April,1995. Tripura was divided into 4 districts but with effect from 21 January 2012 four more new districts was divided making a total of 8 districts in the state.



The Gomati District with headquarter at Udaipur has a population of 4.42 lakhs approx. Gomati District is bounded by Dhalai District, Khowai District, Sipahijala District and South Tripura District. The total geographical area of Gomati District is 1393.11 Sq. Km. which is about 13.27% of the total state area.

There are 8 Nos. Blocks and 3 Nos. Sub-Division in Gomati District. About 47.9% of the population in Gomati District lives in TTAADC Areas. Major tribes in the district are: Tripuri, Jamatia, Reang, Chakma and Halam. Total no. of GPs/Villages, 165 (Non-ADC= 70 & ADC= 95) Nos.



The State of Tripura lies approximately between the lattitudes 22 degrees 56 minutes, and 24 degrees 32 minutes North and between longitudes 91 degrees 0 minutes and 92 degrees 22 minutes East. Gomati District is situated approximately between East longitude 91 degrees 18 minutes and 91 degrees 59 minutes and between North lattitude 22 degres 56 minutes and 23 degrees 45 minutes. The Gomati District is bounded on the North by Dhalai district and West Tripura District, while on the other sides by international border with Bangladesh. The total geographical area of Gomati District is 2,966 which is about 25% of the total state area.



The climate of the District is mostly warm and is characterized by a humid summer and a dry cool winter with plenty of rains during July to October. Rainfall is received from the South -West Monsoon, which normally breaks in the month of May. Hailstorm generally occurs during the month of April & May, occasionally causing damage to the field crops. Autumn and Spring are of very short duration. Average annual rainfall in the district is about 2000 mm and the temperature varies between a maximum of 35.23? and a minimum of 7.43? Celsius. The variation in temperature is much lower during the rains than during any other season.



There are 3(three) principal hill ranges in Gomati District. The South Baramura and Deotamura hill ranges are completely in Gomati District while a part of Atharamura hill range also comes in the District. Deotamura is the principal hill range of Gomati District having a length of 85 Km. and forms the boundary between Amarpur and Udaipur SubDivision.



The principal rivers flowing through the district are, Gomati. The river Gomati originates from the range connecting the Longtharai and Atharamura. At its source, two rivulates, namely, Kalyansing and Malyansing meet, thereafter it takes the name of Raimacherra till it meets the Sharmacherra. Later it assumes the name Gomati. The River Gomati which is about 135 km. Long runs across the sub-divisions Gandacherra, now under Dhalai District, Amarpur and Udaipur under Gomati District and Sonamura Sub-Division of West Tripura District. The river Muhuri has its source in the Deotamura range. It is more than 64 km. long and has a catchment area of 1014 and it flows westwards through hillocks and plains of Belonia sub-division till it enters Bangladesh.

At the source of river Feni, there are three streams known as the Asslang, the Rangafeni and Taindung, of which the Asslang is the principal channel. The river Feni forms the natural boundary between the Gomati District and Bangladesh.



Udaipur is connected with Agartala, the state capital, by road and is about 52 Km from Agartala. The state capital is connected by Indian Airlines services with Calcutta and Guwahati. The nearest railway station is Kumarghat which is about 190 Km from the district headquarter. Within the district, there are regular bus services connecting the sub-divisional towns. The district headquarter, all sub-divisional headquarters and 10 out 11 blocks headquarters are on the telecommunication network.



About 37.5% of the population in Gomati Disrtrict is scheduled tribe and 17.16% of the population is scheduled caste. Major tribes in the district are: Tripuri, Jamatia, Reang, Chakma and Halam. The tribals as well as the non-tribals residing in the District have a socio-cultural similarity with the tribals and non-tribals of Bangladesh. Language spoken by majority of the population is Bengali while the tribals mainly speak Kakborak.



Major arts & crafts in the district are as below: 
1. Cane & Bamboo 
2. Weaving on both indigenous and modern handlooms
3. Carpentry for decorative articles and furnitures
4. Clay modelling
5. Pottery
6. Blacksmith
7. Goldsmith
8. Tailoring / Embroidery
9. Decorative paper materials



Agriculture is the main occupation. However, only 31.61% of the land in the district is cultivable. The holdings are small, and agriculture is mainly rainfed and at subsistence level. The State Government has set before itself a target of attaining self-sufficiency in food production by 2010 A.D. As a result of this, a number of activities are undertaken these days to bring more land under cultivation, make them irrigable and increase the productivity. A large population however is daily labourer, which depends on the employment generation schemes of the Government. As a result of weak economic base and lack of industrial development and entrepreneurship, dependency on the Government is very high.
An analysis of occupational structure in the District shows that about 12.6% are cultivators, 8-9% are agricultural labourers and 1.61% are dependent on trade and commerce. The non-working population is about 68% which is an indication of the weak economic base and under-development. About 72% of the rural population are living below poverty line.
Paddy is the main food crop grown. Potato, sugarcane, mesta, jute, mustard, etc. are some other crops grown in the district. Tea, coffee, rubber, jackfruit, banana, mango, pineapple, etc. are the major plantation crops.